AH: Ming Continues Maritime Expansion

So I actually have a homework assignment revolving around alternate history: How would the world have looked differently, in your opinion, had the Chinese continued to expand and build upon the voyages of Zheng He during the Ming Dynasty?

Faeelin

Banned
You should be pedantic, and point out that they were prestige projects, not driven by trade, and that the diversion of resources from the Mongol threat to keep pursuing them would have led to the fall of Beijing in the 15th century to the Mongols.

Basically what Faeelin said : they were the equivalent of Apollo Program for XVth China, and as most prestige projects, were polished by time and idealization (the famed Zheng He's junks may have been far less gigantic than their alleged size in largely posterior Chinese accounts).

It was neither really about trade (Chinese traders already made China Sea their own Mare Nostrum, under state tutelage), or colonization (China does not need to make colonies, does not need throwing banana) but about Yongle willing to mark himself as legitim against Mandarins and inner opposition (remember he used an ennuch-based administration and took the throne by revolt)...and what best than pointing that all peoples on Earth acknowledge you as the rightful emperor?

It's difficult because China's economic situation was very different from Europe's. China was largely self contained and there weren't many resources or goods that weren't domestically available or conveniently close, like Mongolia or Vietnam. Europe on the other hand was seriously lacking in precious metals and luxury goods. That's what lead the massive trade imbalance and the later Opium Wars. Most of Spain's new world silver actually went straight to China in exchange for things like tea and silk.