Could Jetliner Duopoly Being Avoided?

well, I'm no expert on aviation. but the British had De Havilland, Dutch had Fokker, Russian have Tupolev and Ilyushin. Even in the US, Boeing was not the only jetliner manufacturer, there were McDonell-Douglass and Lockheed competing in the industry.

how come today airliner industry transformed into a duopoly between Boeing and Airbus? and could it be avoided so we could see a more diverse jetliner industry?

well, I'm no expert on aviation. but the British had De Havilland, Dutch had Fokker, Russian have Tupolev and Ilyushin. Even in the US, Boeing was not the only jetliner manufacturer, there were McDonell-Douglass and Lockheed competing in the industry.

how come today airliner industry transformed into a duopoly between Boeing and Airbus? and could it be avoided so we could see a more diverse jetliner industry?

Well...
DeHavilland never built a full sized jetliner (the original Comet only carried 44). And, of course, the fatigue problems gave it a bad name.

Vickers (Vanguard, Viscount, VC-10) had a chance. Although 4 engines on the tail of the VC-10 was weird.

Sud Caravelle

Douglas did OK with its DC-8 and DC-9, but skimped excessively on the DC-10 and drove the company under.

Lockheed with its 1101 TriStar was too late to the game, and they didn't have the smaller passenger jet experience.

I suspect that if Douglas had produced a better quality plane for the DC-10 they might have shut the TriStar out of the sub-jumbo market (where there probably wasn't room for 2 manufacturers at that point).

I could see 4 mainline manufacturers today - Vickers, Douglas, Airbus, and Boeing if things had gone just a bit differently.

Well...
DeHavilland never built a full sized jetliner (the original Comet only carried 44). And, of course, the fatigue problems gave it a bad name.

Vickers (Vanguard, Viscount, VC-10) had a chance. Although 4 engines on the tail of the VC-10 was weird.

Sud Caravelle