Rise of the Hui - Timur's Dream

AN: This is my first timeline so please be as harsh as possible! This was inspired by my thread on the "Islamic China" challenge where a discussion arose as to how an Islamic state in China would look and function. I'm still trying to work out the details but hopefully we can iron things out as we go along. I'd like some constructive criticism on this piece and anyone who would like to point out any factual or logical errors please speak up. I'm experimenting a bit with style, I'm thinking of making a TL with certain portions presented in a literary narrative style while others in a more encyclopedic way.

The POD is Timur does not die while marching to conquer the Ming Dynasty and instead succeeds at reaching China. There he allied with the remnants of the Yuan dynasty in Mongolia and converts many of their leaders to Islam. This Timurid-Northern Yuan alliance attacks Northern China and the rest is history.

So without further ado, I present Rise of the Hui - Timur's Dream

RISE OF THE HUI - TIMUR'S DREAM

temur1-1.jpg

'With eyes like fire and voice of thunder
Timur the lame tore nations asunder
The scourge of god, the morning sword
Their blunder they could not afford
And they burned when they faced him'

-Timur the Lame, excerpt from a 15th century Hui poem written by Fa Bufan

The winter winds snapped at their heels like a hungry pack of wolves, their cold teeth piercing into their skin, every step sending an ache of pain coursing through their bodies.

Their movement was slow and rhythmic, as deep as a drum. The sea of men marched on despite the cold. Many knew they would not live to see winter through, but better to risk the wrath of nature then bring down upon them the anger of Timur.