Dunlop John, or the British Bazooka

This is my first attempt at a TL, it won't be particularly in-depth or thorough, but I think it's at least a small, plausible change that could have interesting consequences. My apologies, of course, for yet another newbie AH World War 2...

As Britain began rearming in 1934, the spectre of what was then called the Great War loomed over defence planning. The dire losses of fighting men in the trenches of northern France would be totally unacceptable - one crippled generation was bad enough, without the prospect of a second. Armoured vehicles were, of course, a major outcome of this perspective; though the difficulties experienced by British infantry, and especially cruiser, tanks are well documented, the remarkable Universal Carrier line resulted from the desire to provide infantry with some degree of mobility protected against shell splinters and machine gun fire.

The question of neutralising enemy strongpoints, particularly machine gun nests, continued to present some difficulty. The standard Mills bomb was entirely adequate to the job, true - but it had to be thrown, requiring a rifleman to close within fifty feet. Fitted with a launcher cup, the Lee-Enfield rifle could project the grenade to about 200 yards, allowing engagement from a comfortable range; one man in an infantry section carried this device. Despite the convenience of using a service grenade and rifle, the high angle of fire made accurate range estimation essential and allowed wind to push the grenade off course.