AHC: Buddhist Scandanavia

What are the chances of Buddhist monks somehow getting to Scandanavia and converting them to Buddhism? Feel free to speculate on their version of the religion and culture.

Perhaps a good bet would be Vikings somehow coming across a settlement of peaceful, isolated monks, and are inspired to convert the locales to Buddhism wherever they go (to raid, of course...)? It's a long shot, but if you think about it, it might work.

Buddhism spread fairly fast east way by trade and semi nomadic people moving around. A similar movement along the Russian step happened too with the mongols. Preferably though the advance should happen before Scandinavia is christened but might happen afterwards too so we need an earlier migration period with Buddhists nomads.

Why would the Norse feel interested in converting to Buddhism?

They may have contact with Buddhist nomads, but what makes conversion a good idea?

Maybe a Buddhist spin on Norse mythology. When you consider how Buddhism affected Japanese martial culture ...

Samurai/Ninja Vikings:
A Study on the Causal Relationship between Raw, Undiluted Awesome
and Spontaneous Intracranial Detonation.

Well that's the title and subject for my entry to the AH.com essay contest sorted.

Why would the Norse feel interested in converting to Buddhism?

They may have contact with Buddhist nomads, but what makes conversion a good idea?

If Buddhism becomes a dominant religion in Russia a fair amount of Vikings would convert for the reason of trade. Buddhism was extremely expansive in its early history making head way into China and Japan. A similar expansion westward is not impossible. Even quite late it made some far reached expansions for example the Buddhists at Kalmykia at the Caspian sea.