JFK Survives Dallas. What Happens To LBJ?

I don't think so. Johnson would be needed to maintain a strong Southern presence, something I think Kennedy would need - especially in light of his civil rights' bills that would cost him a lot of support there. Johnson also had a fair amount of influence on the Senate, so that's important - he was a respected and experienced congressman. I suppose it's not a 'sure' thing for him to keep Johnson around, but I can't exactly think of a better running mate for the time, either.

Not that I'm an expert by any means.

While I know that there are contrary arguments, the fact that JFK was in Dallas with LBJ in November 1963 underscores the importance of Texas to his reelection, as he was there to help mend fences among a rather fractious Democratic party there in advance of the 1964 election. While it's hard to comprehend compared to the politics of today, the South was, in those days, a key part of the Democratic coalition. There were reasons LBJ was on the ticket in the first place and, in my opinion, those reasons still existed for 1964. Kennedy still needed LBJ politically. Moreover, I think JFK was as aware as Johnson of the truth that it is sometimes better to have someone inside the tent pissing out than outside the tent pissing in. If anyone would have been capable of pissing inside the JFK '64 tent from the outside, it would have been LBJ.

One other thing here: if the assassination attempt in Dallas happens, with Oswald missing the final shot, you might find that something of a paradox arises in which JFK is even more compelled to keep LBJ on the ticket to avoid offending Texans. At a minimum, dumping LBJ after an assassination attempt would be politically awkward.