WI: Walt Disney's Doctor Who

http://tardis.wikia.com/wiki/Doctor_Who_(TV_story)#Earliest_form

the above-linked article said:
After the show had first aired in the United States, American companies had worked hard to purchase the rights for an American version. In the early '80s, when The Walt Disney Company were on their spending sprees, they attempted to buy the rights to the show, meaning the entire franchise would belong to Disney, not just an American version of the show.

Steven Spielberg was their only choice to run the office. Spielberg was more than willing to do it, as he felt that Disney was the only American studio who could do such an amazing British show justice. He lost interest when he was told that the show would be released under their Touchstone Television banner; he felt that such an imaginative show needs to be released under their Disney banner.

Now, this is on a wiki and without a citation, and I'm no expert on Doctor Who production history, so I have utterly no idea how accurate this is. But if it is true: What if Disney purchased DW? Say, they agreed with Spielberg's complaint about the banner and changed it, or alternatively he sucked it up and did it anyway? What would be the effects on the future of Who and on other Disney and BBC projects?

The same Spielberg that wanted to make Harry Potter a cartoon with an American voicing the parts... that gives a bit of insight into his mind :D

Wow...I had a TL idea with Disney distributing Who (and K-9*, Sarah Jane and Torchwood), thanks to a shift in Disney Channel's programming. This promises to be cooler.
I do know Spielberg did have plans for a Doctor Who movie.

Hm. Would it be too convergent to have Disney also end up acquiring Star Wars, but a few decades earlier than OTL - and then at some point getting ahold of Star Trek as well? It'd be interesting to have several of the biggest SF properties under one roof.

The Horror!!!! :eek: