Catalonia becomes independent in 1714

Having followed these boards since quite a long time and motivated by the recent events in Catalonia, I've decided to design an alternate history scenario that gives Catalonia independence on 11 September 1714, the very day the Siege of Barcelona was won in OTL and thus marks the loss of autonomy Catalonia mourns about until today.

I'm not Spanish nor Catalan - I just have a huge interest in this area and in the Catalan culture. Also, I am not a history expert. So I'll gladly take any advice or constructive criticism. Be honest. I have no problem with someone ripping apart this construct of thoughts, because this is how I can learn from it.

If this proposed beginning isn't rejected from the beginning on, I'd like to extend the timeline in a history-book style. My main field of interest lies in politics, not military affairs, so expect a focus towards the first one. Wars will be briefly described, but I'm afraid I won't be able to give you detailed battleplans or technological backgrounds.

So here it is, my timeline attempt that would render Catalonia independent:

--

The war of the Spanish Succession erupted on 1 November 1700, when the Habsburg King Charles II of Spain died and did not leave a universal heir behind. There were many claims to the prestigious title of the Kingdom of Spain, but the two aspirants who were backed by European powers represented the two perhaps most powerful dynasties at that time: the house of Bourbon and the House of Habsburg.