Pre WW2 Phillipines Independance - Possible ?

I have very little knowledge about either local or US policy and politics for the region at the time but I wondered if there was any chance or PoD that would give a decent reason and explaination for the Phillipines becoming independant in the 1920-1930s. I understand that in 1935 independance talks were begun, is there any way to acclerate these and achieve total freedom ? Perhaps if the USA kept trade and basing rights ?

Wolfpaw

Banned
How about having the US not stab the Filipinos in the back during the Spanish-American War and actually give them the independence they were promised instead of colonizing and murdering the shit out of them.

True, although you'll probably need a stronger anti-Imperialist league in the United States. However, there is the danger of the Philippines falling into Germany's hands, which would actually deny the US some important business deals and some other things but that may be better in the long run.

Wolfpaw

Banned
True, although you'll probably need a stronger anti-Imperialist league in the United States. However, there is the danger of the Philippines falling into Germany's hands, which would actually deny the US some important business deals and some other things but that may be better in the long run.
Ugh. What the US troops did was bad enough--reports had eerie foreshadows of Vietnam. I don't even want to think what the Kaiser's pickleheads would do, especially given Germany's stellar record in Africa.

Wolfpaw

Banned
A Bryan presidency would likely see Cuban, Puerto Rican, Filipino, and possibly even Samoan independence. And it's not even likely that a Spanish-US conflict is butterflied away with him; he was pretty okay with spreading democracy and dismantling colonialism with armed support, and supported war with Spain (or at least heavy assistance to the rebels) before Hearst made it cool.