Hannibal Does Not Hesitate

I am far from an expert on ancient history (I like 19tha nd 20th century history the most) but during my readings for my latin class, I've come to think of what would happen if Hannibal did not hesitate in his invasion of Roman Italy. After a long march into Italy, Hannibal won a brilliant victory with his outnumbered force (many died on the way). At Cannae 216 BC, perhaps 70,000 Romans died in battle against his army. After the battle, there was virtualy nothing between Hannibal's army and the Rome itself. Hannibal made a critical mistake however. While his calvary commander, Maharbal wanted to invade the city, Hannibal was convinced his men needed a rest. Mahabal is even quoted as saying, "You know how to win Hannibal, but you do not know how to use your victory." Hannibal stalled and the Romans got smart and never engaged him in pitched battle where he excelled but instead focused on isolating him and cuting off his supply lines. Eventually, the Romans organized a counterattack against Carthage itself. Hannibal had to leave Italy to defend his city. He lost, and killed himself later to avoid falling into Roman hands. In the third Punic War, the Romans raze Carthage to the ground.

The obvious POD that occurred to me is what if Hannibal let his calvary commander scout out the capital's defenses and then quickly prepared to assault the city. Could he have taken Rome? And if he did manage to capture the city, could he hold onto it? Since I don't know all that much about this period, are there other Roman armies out there that could take the city back? Would a Roman insurgency develop within the city and possibly otherthrow Hannibal's occupation? Is an insurgency even possible or likely in that time period?

Now for the broader question. Assuming that Carthage were able to totally conquer Roman civilization, what would the new timeline probably look like if you extropolated out further into the future?