AHC and WI: Earlier Transistors

Here's the idea -- point contact transitors by 1920, preferably no PoDs before 1880. How does it happen and what are the effects on consumer products, et el?

Understand I am a complete layman...

... though yes, I am aware of the field effect transistor in 1925 that didn't get attention

Here's the idea -- point contact transitors by 1920, preferably no PoDs before 1880. How does it happen and what are the effects on consumer products, et el?

Understand I am a complete layman...

... though yes, I am aware of the field effect transistor in 1925 that didn't get attention
Purity of the material is a huge problem. Understanding the quantum physics involved is another.

People used crystals (as in crystal radios) for years before anyone could figure out why they worked, let alone try to repeat the effect artificially.

Semiconductor tech is actually non-trivial.

OK -- suppose the field effect transistor (FCT) is invented a few years earlier and gets noticed; can it be followed by the revolution in electronics that followed the PCT in 1947?

a quick note from a man doodling with them:
the mosfet theory was understood by 1913, but before the czochralski process for putification an the hidration process to saturate unsaturate si-sio2 bonds, it is not possible to do anything worthwile.
bjt is a bit mose easier, but before ww2 is unthinkable.
having integrated devices earlier would not really make tech progress (or electronic revolution) be faster, since lithography issues would make them not much smaller than discrete devices.
moore laws is all about scaling, but if you cannot scale down significantly respect to discrete devices, it does not work

the mosfet theory was understood by 1913, but before the czochralski process for putification an the hidration process to saturate unsaturate si-sio2 bonds, it is not possible to do anything worthwile.