Stefan IV Dusan - Constantine XI

This is my first timeline. It deals with a Stefan Dusan who lives to be crowned Constantine XI of a revived Byzantine Empire. I'd like to thank Basileus Giorgios, without whose encouragement and advice I would not have been able to get this thing started. :p

stefan8.jpg

An excerpt from The History of the Roman Empire in the 14th Century by Ioannis Psellos. Vardas Publishing, Constantinople. Second edition, 1953.

CHAPTER III - THE SERVIAN RESTORTION

INTRODUCTION

The Slavic barbaroi from the north had long threatened Constantinople’s security and peace. I refer of course not to our Hellenic brothers of Slavic descent, but to the Slavophone inhabitants medieval Servia and Voulgaria. Their frequent incursions, makeshift settlements, and not infrequent rebellions had made them a thorn in the Romans’ side for centuries. The newcomers had even been arrogant enough to claim the highest title, the title only one man in Christendom (well, save for the Western emperor we recognized when it was expedient) could hold – that of emperor. After the fall of the First Voulgar Empire, the haughty kings of these barbarians continued to claim the title of tsar. This unauthentic claim held little weight and served only to antagonize the one True Emperor in Constantinople, the equal of the Apostles, God’s vice-gerent on Earth. However, the slavoi would prove themselves quite capable, equal in some instances to us Greeks. The historian notes that many of the most illustrious Greeks of today have Slavic descent, and holds the Servian and Voulgarian languages in high regard for their melodious sound. The slavoi have enriched our Hellenic culture with their quaint ways and novel philosophies. One of them would rise to save the Roman Empire, and by extension the Roman people, from vassalage and slavery.

EARLY LIFE OF CONSTANTINE XI