Korean Empire

This is my first attempt at a timeline. Any comments will be greatly appreciated.

Korean Empire

(This is a map of Goguryeo at its height around Gwanggaeto's time.)

In most ATL situations, Korea is taken over by China, Japan, or Russia. This timeline intends to reverse these scenarios and attempt to create a world in which Korea is more dominant, resulting in drastic consequences.

In OTL, Korea was founded as Gojoseon in 2333 BC, and lasted until 108 BC, making it one of the longest-lived kingdoms. During the first half of the first millennium, Korea was divided into three (technically four) kingdoms, Goguryeo, Baekje, Silla, and Gaya, a minor one. The first managed to dominate what is now southern and eastern Manchuria, the Liaodong peninsula, and the northern Korean peninsula, but never managed to unite the country as a whole. As a whole, Silla, which was considered one of the weaker kingdoms, managed to gain the upper hand and conquer the southern part, although another kingdom, Balhae, was eventually set up on the former territory of Goguryeo and even expanded further beyond.

Goguryeo was at its height under Gwanggaeto the Great, only one of the two greats in Korean history, who managed to greatly expand its territory, yet died relatively young in his 30's. As a result, comparisons are often made with Alexander the Great, who also died young and managed to enlarge his empire.

Although Gwanggaeto never became an emperor, he managed to create similar titles to Chinese ones, and elevated the status of the kingdom.

Gwanggaeto ruled after Han fragmented to China's version of the Three Kingdoms, and managed to take advantage of Baekje, which was also a powerful state in its own right, claiming the left lower portion of the Korean peninsula and also some lands in the Liaodong Peninsula. However, with Goguryeo's intervention, it reduced Baekje's status to that of a vassal state, and never managed to reclaim its former glory.

So, now to ATL.