Armstrong and Aldrin land on moon but never make it back to lunar orbit

Hi!

I saw an interesting tidbit of information on the Apollo 11 Wikipedia article:

"Years later, it was publicly revealed that Nixon had prepared a speech to be given if the mission resulted in death. The lunar module had not been tested to assess if it could launch from the moon surface".

Consider the following POD. Armstrong and Aldrin successfully land Eagle on the moon and perform their mission. However, there is a problem when they try to launch from the moon's surface to return to lunar orbit to dock with Collins. As a result, Armstrong and Aldrin are lost (as well as possibly Collins if the engine required to send the astronauts back to Earth was not part of Eagle).

I can envision two types of accidents (though I'm not an expert on this!). First, Eagle lands in terrain which causes it to be tilted away from the vertical as it settles. When the astronauts lift off, they wind up flying the wrong way and would need to make a course correction to get allow them to rendezvous with the orbiting module. Since Eagle was low on fuel by the time it landed, it does not have enough fuel to make a correction.

Another option is that the exhaust from the LEM's thruster reflects off the lunar surface (which Apollo 10 never had to deal with) and damages the ship somehow (though I can't think of a way this could cause a catastrophic failure).

At any rate, what would be the repercussions?

1. The disaster would have been seen all over the world -- after all, everyone was paying attention to this mission live (unlike the Apollo 13 incident, where people only started paying attention after the accident took place). The Russians would have probably had a field day and NASA would have a lot of egg on its face.