Hindu Holy War?

I'm not terribly (at all) familiar with most eastern religions... Or much of the Western actually, but is there such a thing in the Hindu faith (in its many forms) that might be similar to a Crusade or Jihad? Just curious...

I'm not terribly (at all) familiar with most eastern religions... Or much of the Western actually, but is there such a thing in the Hindu faith (in its many forms) that might be similar to a Crusade or Jihad? Just curious...

Nothing official I'd think, just the generic "they don't believe in what I believe" reason for wars against opposing religions.

Even that I believe was very rare. I'm no expert, but I remember reading about the Shahi having relative difficulty rallying their people to fight off the Ghazvanid invaders on religious grounds. The Ghazvanids, meanwhile, had thousands holy warriors in their armies.

Obviously, there's more going on there - the Ghazvanids could motivate with the opportunity for plunder, but I think it illustrates the point. Outside of the Abrahamic faiths, religious war never really developed. The closest I can think is certain later sects of Buddhism in Japan, and even then there was a lot more to the ideology of say, the Ikko-Ikki than just religion.

Cueg

Banned
I can getting into details because I'm on a phone, but read up on Vijyangar and the history of Hindu resistance to Muslim incursions

Last edited:
I seem to remember an earlier post in this forum that said that Hindus did conduct genocidal warfare against each other for worshiping the wrong sets of Gods, while they also persecuted Buddhists.

@Practical Lobster, Buddhism did have a violent side; one of the Four Heavenly Kings was explicitly armed with a lance and cudgel with which to defeat non-believers (Source is John Man's Kublai Khan).

Last edited: