Metallurgy POD: How far, how advanced could European and African bronze-making get ?

It is often said that African prehistory and antiquity, with the exception of Egypt, "went straight from the Neolithic to the Iron Age". I'm not an expert in this field (something I regret), and newer finds and research might invalidate this long-held claim, but I nevertheless have interest in the topic.

And so, I want to ask:
- How much and how far could bronze-making spread throughout the African continent before iron-making starts to replace it ?
- How would local conditions and some of the earliest African trade routes influence the spread of this knowledge and craft ?
- Would bronze-making be useful enough to most African cultures before the arrival of iron as a hardier material ?

On a similar note, I want to ask the same sort of question about Bronze Age Europe: How far could the crafts of bronze tool, bronze weapon and bronze ornament manufacturing get ? Not just among the Mediterranean cultures (e.g. Minoans, Myceneans, Hispanians, etc.), but also among the more northern or obscure cultures who's names had been lost to history.

Africa fans, prehistory fans, European Bronze Age fans, I'm all ears !

altamiro

Banned
While Africa is blessed with abundant and easily accessible copper it lacks in tin - at least in deposits of tin ore similarly easy to mine as in Britain or in Asia Minor. This would limit bronze manufacturing until someone figures out that copper-zinc alloys are almost as good and zinc is far more abundant... But this in turn requires zinc to be known as metal.

Ah, that's a very good point, actually ! :cool: Could explain part of the OTL developments...

Nevertheless, are there any possible methods of how pre-Iron Age people could develop a copper-zinc bronze industry ?

If surface mining for zinc is impossible, then I don't know... Maybe they mine for lead (or something else) somewhere and run into zinc ?